Wearmouth-Bridge-B_W

Photostream #007: Night Photography

Hi,

In preparation for a Camera Club Event, I  have been spending some time around the city where I live creating some night-time photographs.

I was inspired by Matt Kloskowski’s latest blog entry: What I Learned on-my First Star Photo-shoot.  It certainly may not quite be Monument Valley, but you can only work with what you have at the time.

 

I know photographing Stars and the Lights of the City are certainly very different, in terms of the methods used to photograph them.  But it did take me some time in each location to get he settings right in the camera to make sure the final image wasn’t too blown out or too blurry because of high winds.

Camera Gear:
Camera: Canon 30d
Lens: Canon EF-S17-85mm f/4-5.6 IS USM
Cable Release: Canon Cable Release

Because most of the photographs you will be taking range between 5 and 30 seconds, one of the most important pieces of equipment you need is an extremely sturdy tripod.  Also you need an easy way to minimize camera shake so you can either use the timer function on the camera itself, so you are not touching the camera when taking the pictures, but ideally you need to have either a wired or wireless cable release – this will minimize any possibility of camera shake.  You still need to be aware of any wind however, as even the slightest movement of the camera or something hitting it like your camera strap can produce blurry images.

Below are some of the final images taken on that night…  Please let me have your thoughts (in the comment section below) of the images shown.

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Photostream #007: Night Photography”

  1. Great pictures JT, I love the light trail ones! We learnt how to do this last week in the course i am doing but I did not like how mine turned out. Yours are really great, I love the third one from the bottom.

    1. Thank you Su, I have always enjoyed doing night photography. They are really worth the effort when you finally get the settings right.

Comments are closed.