New Camera from Nikon with 36.3 Megapixels!

 

There seems to be that invisible line drawn between Canon Camera Users and Nikon Camera Users.  I am a Canon fan myself through-and-through, have been for a number of years, and a number of friends of mine will be saying to me “…what were you thinking?” when they read this article.

Those of you who do read this blog on a regular basis will have noticed that when it comes to photography, I consider myself to be Landscape Photographer first over any other type of photography, and when I read that Nikon was bringing out a camera solely aimed at the commercial photographer, that is to say those that do a great deal of landscape, wedding,  and studio portraiture photography with a whopping 36.3 megapixels… I said to myself, I need to check this thing out.  I do agree with Scott Kelby’s article (Jumping the Gun article on the Nikon D800) –

“…If you read that it has 36.3 megapixels and you’re like “36.3 megapixels is overkill!!!” then obviously this camera isn’t for you…”

…and probably for someone who doesn’t work as a photographer as his main job and very rarely gets the chance to go out and do some landscape photography, 36.3 megapixels is probably a tad overkill, but probably would not need another camera for quite some time.

There is only two issues I see for myself:

  1. It is a Nikon Camera, which I have very little experience in using and the small amount of times I have had to use one, found it difficult to find the features I needed at the time, because I am so used to the layout of Canon.
  2. Where am I going to find $2,999.95 (approximately £1,875.00) – the estimated recommended retail price.

thinking… “I wonder if Canon will reciprocate and bring out something similar?

Anyway, let’s take a look at some of the features of this amazing camera:

“Hold in your hands an HD-SLR able to capture images rivaled only by those produced with a medium-format camera: extremely low noise, incredible dynamic range and the most faithful colors. Meet the Nikon D800, a 36.3 megapixel FX-format HD-SLR for professional photographers who require end results of the highest quality, who demand superior performance, speed, handling and a fully integrated imaging system. For cinematographers and multimedia professionals, 36.3 MP means true 1080p HD cinematic quality video and includes inputs for stereo microphones and headphones, peak audio meter display, DX crop mode to maximize NIKKOR lens selection and angle of view and much more.”

Source

My motto when it comes to cameras, a Digital SLR Camera is for taking still images, and a Digital Video Camera is for taking moving images… you should not mix the two into one.  I have seen some of the results Canon have achieved in their latest iterations of the Canon 5d and 7d on HD Video and I am impressed.  I am however, looking at this camera from a still-image perspective.

The Nikon D800 is a full-frame camera, with 4-frame continuous shooting per second (so this camera is not for fast pace photography like sports games).  It sports a 100 – 6,400 ISO Range with very low noise production.

Image Pixel Area Dimensions:

FX-format
(L) 7,360 x 4,912
(M) 5,520 x 3,680
(S) 3,680 x 2,456

Can take both Secure Digital and Compact Flash Cards simultaneously.

Shutter Speed: 1/8000 to 30s / Bulb.

Exposure Compensation: ±5 EV in increments of 1/3, 1/2 or 1 EV

Exposure Bracketing: 2 to 9 frames in steps of 1/3, 1/2, 2/3 or 1 EV
(This would be ideal for HDR Photography)

Whats even better, is that the D800 actually has HDR Functionality built-in, but it only combines two shots, as opposed to the usual three or more in HDR Tutorials.

Conclusion

Compared to it’s bigger brothers D3 and D4 both with 24 and 16 megapixels respectively, the prices on these far exceed the price of the D800, sometimes 2.5 times as much.

Despite being a Canon user for a number of years, and if I had the money, this is definitely a camera I would consider purchasing.

They are currently taking pre-orders at the B&H Photo Store (I think this is only available to US Customers right now)

You can also check out a full specification at the Nikon Site.

