Canon Rumors and My Current Kit…

Rumors of the Canon 5d X

On February 8th, I wrote in my ‘New Camera from Nikon with 36.3 Megapixels!‘ article:

thinking… “I wonder if Canon will reciprocate and bring out something similar?

It just so happens that I came across an article on the Canon Rumors website that Canon is rumored to release an iteration of their Canon 5d line called the 5d X and just look at the possible features:

  • A 45 Megapixel Sensor
  • 61 Points Automatic Focusing
  • 3.4 Frame Per Second Continuous Shooting
  • 100-6,400 ISO Range
  • Estimated Retail Value – Over $3,000

Yes you read that right 45 Megapixels…! if you thought 36.3 was high quality, can you imagine what this 5d X will produce, if the rumors are correct.

I must point out they are just rumors and there is no definite proof that I can see, on the Internet yet that this is definitely going to be released by Canon.

 

My Current Kit

For those of you who like to look at the photographs I post here, I thought you might be interested in what kind of kit I am currently using.

 

  • Canon EOS 30d Camera
  • Canon EFS 17-85mm Image Stabilizer Lens
  • Canon 28-80mm Lens
  • Canon f/2.8 28mm Lens
  • Can0n BG-E2 Battery Grip
  • Canon Remote Switch RS-80N3
  • Sigma f/5.6 70-300mm Lens
  • Sigma EF-500 DG Super FlashGun
  • Kood ND4 Filter (Not Shown – Attached to 28-80mm)
  • Hoya ND8 Filter
  • ExpoDisc

My Canon EOS 30d Camera has served me well over the years, and until I can afford to replace it, it will go on being my main camera.

The Sigma 70-300mm zoom lens does not get used all that much anymore, partly because it does not have image stabilization and unless you use a tripod it is very difficult to get sharp pictures.

The Canon EFS 17-85mm IS Lens with Ultrasonic motor, although old compared to new lenses out there, is one of the best lenses I have owned in a long time, and it is very rare I take this lens off the camera now.  It always has a lens-hood attached.

It is always a good idea to have a lens-hood, it makes all the difference.  It amazes me how many people I see carrying around camera’s shooting away with the lens-hood in the storage position (like the picture to the right).  It is very rare you would get a lens with a lens-hood included, you normally have to purchase one separately, I certainly had to.  They normally come with very expensive lenses, so if you have one, Use It!, it’s not there for decoration, you will be amazed at the difference in the pictures you get.

Certainly a far cry from the specifications of both the Nikon D800 and the rumored Canon 5d X isn’t it? – The Canon 5d II is the camera I have my eye on at the moment to expand my kit or even replace my old 30d, it is beginning to feel quite old when I am working with my colleague on weddings and I either use his 5d or 1d Canon camera’s.

I would like to say I will have the money to purchase either the Nikon D800 or the rumored Canon 5d X but it is very unlikely.

Until next time, thank you for reading.

