Design Work: Titanic 100 Year Commemoration Poster

If you are not already aware, April 15th, 2012 is the 100th Year Anniversary of the tragic sinking of the R.M.S. Titanic.

RMS Titanic was a British passenger liner that sank in the North Atlantic Ocean on 15 April 1912 after colliding with an iceberg during her maiden voyage from Southampton, England to New York City. The sinking of Titanic caused the deaths of 1,514 people in one of the deadliest peacetime maritime disasters in history. She was the largest ship afloat at the time of her maiden voyage. One of three Olympic class ocean liners operated by the White Star Line, she was built between 1909–11 by the Harland and Wolff shipyard in Belfast. She carried 2,224 people. [Source]

To commemorate this 100 Years since the sinking of the Titanic, a local company is putting on a evening of remembrance to those that died.  A friend and colleague of mine will be providing the photography for the event, providing a studio area with a background showing a depiction of the Grand Staircase that was on the R.M.S. Titanic, as well as recording the event with general photographs.

I occasionally work with this local photographer, providing sales assistance of the photographs, and in preparation of this event I have been working on some designs of posters showing the prices that we intend to charge for each of the photographs.  I have also been working on a design showing what the Grand Staircase used to look like to show it in comparison with the the studio background we will be using.  Below is a sample of what I have come up with:

I designed these posters in Adobe Photoshop CS5, using numerous techniques with filters, layer masks, etc.

I wanted to give a feel of the posters had been created in 1912, using images and appropriate fonts of the day and give it that aged look as if it had survived the 100 years.

These posters have not been seen by my colleague yet, and may decide not to use them, but I like doing digital design work like this in Photoshop, so if he decides not to use them, it has given me further practice.

The event is taking place on Saturday April 14th, 2012 and the photography will be provided by Ragsdale Photography.

If he will allow it, I will take my camera along on the night and take some photographs of my own, and post them on this blog, for all of you to see, joining the many hundreds of other sites that will no doubt be posting images showing the celebrations of this anniversary.

Please let me have your thoughts on what you think of the designs above, and any suggestions on what you might have done better (go on I can take it…)

Until next time.

