Greatings from the land of Oz…

After one month in Australia I have finally gotten round to posting here again.  I just wanted to post a quick update on what is happening and what I have planned if you’re interested in reading about my new life in the land of Oz.

The last four weeks have been quite a roller-coaster of a time.  I don’t think I expected it to be easy but I didn’t expect to have such a hard time.

 

When I knew I was coming out to Australia, I thought to myself, I am single, have no children (none I know of…) and although it would be hard not being able to easily see my parents I would be able to do it standing on my head and not be effected by the feelings of homesickness that many feel when they move a long away from the home country.  Boy was I wrong…

First off, I was hit hard with jet-lag.  I had gone to Queensland, Australia for a holiday in April of last year and after a couple of days getting over what was long journey and multiple changes of planes, I was fine.  But this time, even though the flights were much easier, only one stop in Dubai and then straight to Sydney.  It has taken the best part of these four weeks to get over it.

I was in a very fortunate position, that the company I am now working for had paid for the flights, 3-weeks accommodation and being very accommodating in allowing me extra time to get things sorted, that needs to be done, when you emigrate to a new country.

Finance

The biggest problem I have found is gaining finance to purchase a vehicle.  Now, I know what you’re all thinking, are you mad, you’ve moved to Sydney, one of the largest cities in Australia – like London in the UK, you would be mad to even consider needing a vehicle.  But I have chosen 2-Wheels this time, which is still difficult to get through the traffic but far easier to park (and cheaper).

I have effectively have had to start all over again.  I have come from the UK, where I have a number of Loans, Credit Cards and a Mortgage and as a result a pretty good credit rating but none of that is recognized here, so when I was considering buying the bike, I was allowed to get the finance for the $16,000 that I wanted but they said I had to put down a deposit of $3,500 which is impossible when you’ve just moved, and have significant expenses of finding somewhere to live (and no savings like me).

This seemed to be trend, the more and more I looked into it.  Because I was not able to afford this, I looked at a cheaper alternative thinking that the less I apply for would be better for the finance companies, but even $7,000 was too much for them and they wanted me to be in the country longer.

To cut this long story short, I had to resort to getting a credit card, which the bank seem to be happy for me to have, and I will revisit this in a couple of months to reduce the monthly cost and interest charges.

So for those of you who like bikes, here is the bike I ended up getting.  It is a 2000 Registered – Honda ST1100:

Accommodation

The search for accommodation was a little smoother than the search for finance and a vehicle… once I found one.

I would suggest not coming to Australia with the expectations that finding accommodation is going to be easy (Sydney certainly).  The rental market is a fierce area and although at first glance on sites like flatmates.com.au there is lots to choose from, but many do not respond to your request for viewings and they are gone even before you get a chance to check them out.

I did finally find a place in Hunters Hill area, which is a quiet suburb of Sydney, but if you’re thinking of buying somewhere here, you will need a lot of money, I mean a lot of money… in excess of $1.5 million.

img-thing

Well that’s it for now, I plan to be heading out on the bike this weekend as it promises to brighten up a bit with a high of 23 degrees.  I plan to head up to the Ku-ring-gai Chase National Park.  The trip is for a ride on my new bike (well new to me) but I will hopefully get some photographs to share with you all when I get back.

So hope the information in this post helps those looking to emigrate to Sydney Australia, and I will post more information about my experiences as they happen.

I still need to swap out my UK Driving Licence so information on that to come.  (By the way – You need to have a Permanent Residential Address before they will swap it out).  Plus I have to register my bike, something else I wasn’t aware of, more expense that you don’t plan for.

If there is anything you would like to see or know of my experiences emigrating to Australia, then please post them in the comments below and I would be more than happy to answer them (if I can).

Until next time.

See you soon.

