Heading Over to the Darkside… iOS vs Android

This very quick article is not designed to be a review of the iPhone 4 or the HTC One mobile phones.  I just so happens to be those phones I have, this article is to express my feelings of moving away from iOS something I said I would never do, and start using Android.

I will start off by saying, I am aware that the photo that starts this article shows the iPhone 5 and the HTC One side-by-side, just so I don’t get loads of comments about my mistake.  As I said this is about iOS vs Android not the phones themselves.

HTC-ProductDetail-Hero-slide-04 iphone4

 

 

 

 

 

 

So… Why did I move away from an iOS mobile phone when I categorically said that I am a true Apple fan, and ever since getting my first iPhone, I would never look at getting any type of other phone because it does everything I want, and I really like the operating system (with one or two exceptions), anything else is not a great experience and I don’t need to concern myself about anti-virus or anti-spyware software for a phone.

If my situation hadn’t changed so considerably at the start of 2014, I may have kept to my promise and continued to be a fan of Apple hardware.  This is not to say that after a period of time (2 Years – Length of Contract), that I will eventually move away from Android and return to iOS.

The figures quoted in this article are just for illustration purposes, and this article is not intended to compare the differences between carriers as they are all different, and not an argument to use one carrier over the other, because one is better than the other.

This of course doesn’t mean I have moved away completely, nor does this mean that I have changed my mind between using a Windows or a OS X based PC, it definitely doesn’t.  As it just so happens I am in the process of selecting my hardware to begin building my new computer, and I have every intention of installing OS X.  (That’s for another article – Coming soon).

Anyway, back to the article at hand.  When my employment prospects changed in late 2013, and I knew I was moving 12,000 miles across the world to Sydney Australia, I knew I would need to get an Australian based mobile phone carrier, possibly even a new phone.

My current iPhone 4, which has served me well over the last couple of years was on a Pay-as-You-Go contract with the 3-Network and they recently introduced a ‘Feel At Home’ option to all pay-as-you-go customers, where, no matter where you were in the world (selected countries), including Australia you could continue to use your Call, Text and Data allowance without been charged astronomical roaming fees for using your phone abroad.

As a result (and that the company I work for were not prepared to provide me with a mobile phone) I wanted to keep my phone for the odd text and data access to check my bank account, etc.  So I was on a mission to find a new phone that I could use all around Australia, because I would be traveling around as part of my job.

One really good thing about buying anything in Australia (certainly in New South Wales) that is to be purchased on a month-by-month basis they always provide you with a base cost price for the total term of the contract.

vodafone_iphone_contract

The process of buying a mobile phone in Australia is somewhat interesting.  You have to factor in the monthly cost of the contract say $A65.00 per month, but you also need to factor in the cost of the phone on top of that, so if are planning on getting the latest iPhone 5 it would cost you an extra $A12.00 per month for the phone, so it would end up costing you $A77.00 per month for a period of 24 months.  A total of $A1,848.00 without the cost of phone calls and data usage beyond of what you are provided as part of the contact.  Now don’t quote me on the figures this is just an example and think this is what it was when I was looking.

Now, the cost per month for the iPhone 5/5s, as much as I wanted one, was too much for me at the time, and still think it is a little too much to pay for a mobile phone contract.  This works out approximately £50.00 per month in the UK.

So, I began to look at alternatives, and to cut a long story as short as possible, after looking at numerous different phones, comparing their specifications, and reading peoples reviews and experiences of using them, I settled on the HTC One, which to some will be a good choice and to some a bad one.

Now why the HTC One, I hear you ask, well, it was simply down to the specifications, it has a great screen, smooth operation of using Android, (although I am not a huge listener of music) it has great sound from the beatsAudio speakers and headphones.  Most of all it was at a reasonable cost, costing me $A55.00 per month for the contract and phone, before anything beyond my allowances.

There wasn’t any specific differences between the iPhone and the HTC One that made me choose the phone over the others, it was the favorable reviews and down to cost at the time that made me choose it.

I have lived with the HTC One for approximately 2-months now and these are my thoughts on the Android Operating System…

Pros

  • I like the customization options available with Android.  Been able to customize the screen just exactly how you want it to look, and to have live desktop backgrounds, such as live weather updates with animations is a big plus for me.
  • The software is much more readily available both official and non-official, paid, free or pirated (not that I am not advocating downloading paid apps for free to install – Pay the developers for their work.

Cons

  • Much like Windows and OS X, Android is unfortunately more susceptible to Viruses and Spyware than iOS, so it is a good idea to have one installed and running.
  • Lack of updates.  The one thing I like about Apple is that they make new versions of their iOS Software for free to download and update on release (until the phones end of life).

    Android KikKat has been out for sometime now, and it only depends on where you are in the world and which carrier you are with, determines if and when you get the latest version of the OS.  Unless you are prepared to Root (Hack) your phone and install a prepared version yourself, you have to wait or stick with what you have.

  • I have found that, unless you maintain the phone on a regular basis, the apps running will consume large amounts of your memory and battery life.  Yes iOS you have to close running apps to conserve battery, but iOS seems to manage its memory better.
  • The Keyboard – I am sorry guys, this is a big one for me.  Although I am not the worlds fastest typist on a touchscreen, and the software for correcting typing errors is very good, I make a lot more mistakes typing on the software-keyboard on Android than I do on the one provided with iOS.  Now I am sure you guys can provide me ideas on how to improve it.
  • This one is probably more specific to the carrier and their range, but I find the 4G network to be fast and reliable but very limited to specific areas of Sydney.

Conclusions

If I was in the same situation as I was when I first arrived in Australia and needed a phone simply to contact the various people for finding somewhere to live and work purposes, I may consider making the same choice and go with a Android based phone.

Would I take the HTC One again? Out of the phones I looked at, probably too many to list here, the phone is very good, although I have had some problems with it losing some of my data.  But I do enjoy the ability to customize the phone to my personal taste and if this was possible on the iPhone then I would stick with the iPhone.

My Choice: iOS

A lot of information there, but if you are considering switching, unless there is a specific reason, cost, software abilities, etc then I would suggest sticking with iOS and Apple hardware.

